Thursday, July 14, 2016

Another huge name in XVs has failed to make it to Rio as a 7s player

Bryan Habana has not been selected to compete as part of the Blitz Bokke in Rio, it was confirmed today. 

Habana and fellow Springbok Francois Hougaard, who featured during the year, did not make the final cut, adding to a list of big name XVs players that failed in their bid to make the Olympics. However XVs stars Cheslin Kolbe and Juan de Jongh were included in the squad for Rio.

Quade Cooper, Nick Cummins, Liam Messam all failed to make their respective 7s teams for the tournament. The South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) on Thursday included 12 players to compete at the Rugby Sevens as part of Team South Africa at the 2016 Olympic Games in Brazil. 

Kyle Brown will captain the squad that will compete as part of Team SA as rugby returns to the Olympics 92 years since the 15-man format was last played at the Olympics, in 1924 in Paris. Current World Rugby Sevens Player of the Year, Werner Kok, was included in the team after he missed out in all of the 2015/16 HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series following a knee injury.