Monday, March 7, 2016

Did an embarrassing TMO Law fail cost the Western Force a penalty try?

In the Reds vs the Force game on the weekend the referee refers a possible dot down in-goal situation to the TMO. After they establish that not none of the attacking Force players had grounded the ball, the referee ask the TMOs if the Reds player that finally dotted down was offside, to which he is informed, he was in-goal so he can't be offside. 

However Law 10.1(a) - among other things - states: A player can be offside in the in-goal. 

Ergo, an offside diving on a ball stopped the on rushing Force player from scoring, hence penalty try? 

CREDIT: SAReferees