Thursday, September 3, 2015

Penalty try awarded as 'normal tackle' would probably not have stopped score

The ref takes his time and explains his thinking clearly. Respect. 

The ref explains the decision clearly but points out that the penalty try is awarded as a 'normal tackle' would have been unlikely to have stopped the try. So does that mean if it's the last tackle is an illegal tackle, it's only a penalty try if a normal tackle would not have stopped one? If you see what we mean. 

Law 10.2 a : 'A penalty try must be awarded if the offence prevents a try that would probably otherwise have been scored. A player who prevents a try being scored through foul play must either be cautioned and temporarily suspended or sent off.'

Thanks to SA Referees youtube account. 

CREDIT: SAReferees